Link to Content Area

Ocean Conservation Administration, Ocean Affairs Council.

  • Font Size:
  • A
  • A
  • A

About Protected Marine Wildlife

Content Area

To conserve marine wildlife, amendments were made according to announcements made by the Council of Agriculture, Executive Yuan on March 29, 2017. Additionally, pursuant to the list of protected species in effect on May 29, 2017 and Paragraph 2, Article 4 of the Wildlife Conservation Act, protected marine wildlife were announced on January 9, 2019, after which a protected marine wildlife list was made.

The protected marine wildlife are as follows:
Categories Species  
Marine mammals Enhydra spp., Arctocephalus spp., Mirounga leonine, Monachus spp., Cetacea spp., Dugong dugon, Trichechus inunguis, Trichechus manatus, and Trichechus senegalensis.  
Seabirds Anous stolidus, Larus relictus, Onychoprion anaethetus, Saundersilarus saundersi, Sterna dougallii, Sterna sumatrana, Sternula albifrons, Thalasseus bergii, Thalasseus bernsteini, Fregata andrewsi, Papasula abbotti, Pelecanus crispus, Phoebastria albatrus, Phoebastria nigripes, Spheniscus demersus, and Spheniscus humboldti.  
Marine reptiles Amblyrhynchus cristatus, Caretta caretta, Chelonia mydas, Eretmochelys imbricate, Lepidochelys olivacea, Lepidochelys kempii, Natator depressus, and Dermochelys coriacea.  
Fish Anoxypristis cuspidate, Pristis clavata, Pristis microdon, Pristis pectinata, Pristis pristis, Pristis zijsron, Acipenser brevirostrum, Acipenser sturio, Cheilinus undulatus, Bolbometopon muricatum, Totoaba macdonaldi, and Latimeria spp.  
Other marine species Polycyathus chaishanensis and Pseudosiderastrea formosa.  
Unit:Marine Conservation Division
  • Visitor: 1539
  • Update: 2022-10-27
Font Size:
Ocean Conservation Administration, Ocean Affairs Council